Sitting immediately adjacent to Alameda, California in San Francisco Bay, is tiny Alameda Bay Farm Island.  It was originally farm land, and known for producing two unique products for the nearby city restaurants--asparagus and oysters.  Originally known as Asparagus Island, it also supported large oyster beds,( along with other portions of the Alameda island coast) which produced what was then considered a great delicacy to Edwardian San Francisco. 

Although separated by an estuary in the 19th century from mainland Alameda, it is now connected to both Alameda and Oakland.  By extension, it is connected to the Oakland International Airport, which was opened by Charles Lindbergh in 1927. What was once a quiet agricultural area, now houses offices, retail sites and residential developments.  In one of the office complexes can be found the headquarters of the Oakland Raiders.

An graceful lagoon runs through portion of the Alameda Bay Farm Island homes. Additionally,  while there are many small parks throughout the island, Shoreline Park, with its inviting trails for running, biking and walking, offers amazing views of the San Francisco skyline across the bay.  For those who enjoy golf, there is the Chuck Corica Golf Complex, a mainstay of the island for many years.

While there are many Alameda homes and apartments nearby, the major development on the island is, and has been, "Harbor Bay Isle".  It has twenty homeowner associations that work with the many residential subdivisions throughout the area.  An additional tie in to the nearby airport is the Amelia Earhart school honoring one of America's most notable female pilots who was lost over the Pacific in 1937 during her round the world flight quest. 

While ever changing, Bay Farm Island has an interesting and varied history to contribute to the Bay Area scene.

Posted by Bruce Wagg on


Email Send a link to post via Email

Leave A Comment

Please note that your email address is kept private upon posting.